A Lighter Journey

On a quest to lighten our loads and brighten our homes

Homeschooling…Why???

on January 18, 2012

Why did I choose to homeschool?  Because public school won’t give my children a fantastic education?  No.  I don’t doubt that public schools could educate my children.  I went to public school.   Honestly, my reasoning is simple.  I didn’t want to “give” my little (big) boy away for eight hours a day.  I wanted to be the teacher.  I wanted to teach him to count, to read, to write.  I escpecially wanted to teach him to have good character and to grow in God.  So…when Kindergarten registration started in our neighborhood last spring, I ignored it!

I know some people, lots of people, think I am wrong.  Crazy even.  That’s okay.   The only people I really have to answer to are my children, my husband and my God.  So when I tell people, and people give me that “are you stupid” look, followed by their opinion, I just smile and tell them that we love it!  They tell me my kid probably won’t be “normal.”  I reply that I am okay with that, I am not a big fan of “normal” anyhow.  They say my kid won’t be “socialized.”  I assure them he has plenty of interaction at home and elsewhere.  I know homeschooling isn’t for everyone, and I agree.  But it is for me.

We are halfway through our Kindergarten year and we LOVE it.  I love seeing the joy of learning on their faces and in their hearts.

See…happy, functioning, engaged, “normal” little boys!

 

{Courtney}

3 responses to “Homeschooling…Why???

  1. Penny Tocheri says:

    Those boys will have AMAZING socialization because you will pick who they socialize with!

  2. Heather says:

    You are an AMAZING mother! 🙂 Doing what you feel is right for your kids and your family is NEVER wrong and always “normal”! Go Courtney!

Leave a Reply

